Giving Thanks (Remembrance)

 first thanksgiving

Let us give thanks

For our new friends

And to their welcoming

Spirit upon our arrival

 

We owe much gratitude

For they nursed our sick

Taught us to harvest

From sacred ground

Hunt for daily sustenance

And show reverence

For our worthy prey

 

These peaceful warriors

With pride and poise

A primitive people

The earth and it’s creatures

Held high in spiritual regard

 

This feast of gratitude

So shallow and empty

Now knowing the devastation

That was to unfold

 

Was this a celebration,

Or something different?

Perhaps a case of

“Keeping the friends close,

But the enemies closer”.

 

Are we not entitled

To claim this new land

For our very own?

 

So vast and glorious

Yet there cannot be

Room for both cultures

To peacefully coexist

 

The conflict of the natives

Crude, uneducated savages

Against the pilgrimage of

The colonies upper class

 

False promises are made

Evil underhandedness inflicted

Upon an unsuspecting race.

Peaceful and Warrior tribes alike

Fall victim to the influence

Of military might from the East

 

Uprising becomes the downfall

Of so many innocent peoples

“This land is your land,

This land is my land”

So long as you leave it to us

And go peacefully into the night.

 

Villages burned, women, children

Taken away or left for dead

Brave warriors struggle on

Outnumbered, outgunned, cast out

Sent away to lands unseen

Until the cycle begins again.

 

So many years have passed

Since those troubling times

Perhaps we have forgotten

Just how much the native tribes

Truly gave up by offering help

To strangely dressed white men

In their giant sailing ships

 

So on this day of giving thanks

Let us take a moment to reflect

On lives lost and races forever changed

By the early onset of the very things

That continue to plague us today

 

Greed and War in the name of “Progress”

Our “NEW WORLD” now shows her age

As we mercilessly continue our assault

On her very existence.

 

We should reflect on the very things

That made the Indian tribes a proud

And respectfully spiritual people.

It mattered not their tribe or clan

When all was said and done they

Were reigned over by the Earth

And the spirit guides of her many animals.

 

We cannot reverse the damage

Imposed upon the first inhabitants

So let us at least reverse the course

Of destruction on the one they held

So high in spiritual regard.

 

Let us be thankful once again

For a generous and bountiful mother

And bow down before her

Splendid magnificence

12 responses to “Giving Thanks (Remembrance)

    • Everything is good on this end my friend. Yes, this is a bit heavy for the festive time of year, but I found myself reflecting on our country’s past and given the time of year, this was carrying some weight. I love Thanksgiving and have many things to be thankful for, but found it necessary for me to think on what history actually shows and give respect to the original people and home we all share. Thanks for commenting, and I hope Thanksgiving, and the Holidays bring you much joy and peaceful clarity of the mind. My good wishes to you.
      Keep Inspiring.

  1. While I would never deny that the concept of “Thanksgiving” is worthy of a holiday, I too find it important to look past the fairy tales that we were taught as children in school and recognize the brutal reality that tarnishes our country’s history.

    • I really enjoy Thanksgiving as a matter of fact. The thankfulness for family and friends, and a time to reflect on just how good we actually have it. But, I also felt it necessary to pen a tribute to the peoples who were here before us and were a perfect example of how to live a simple life in reverence of our Earth Mother’s beauty and in harmony with all it’s creatures. Hopefully we will find a way back to that. Anyway, Happy Thanksgiving to you and much gratitude to you for being so supportive of my writing and leaving such encouraging comments.
      Keep Inspiring

  2. It was just the other day, when my friends and I were discussing the cruel irony of Thanksgiving; in some ways, the way the Native Indians were/are treated reminds me of how the aborigines are outcasts from their lands too (my mind makes connections in random ways, don’t ask).

    I really enjoyed reading this John, a very thought-provoking piece which encourages readers to have a rethink about what it is they are being thankful for (I’ve took myself out of the equation being a Brit and all lol); excellent job and executed perfectly. x

    • No qualification necessary. I love the connections your intelligent and thoughtful mind make, and enjoy hearing them.

      Thank you so much for commenting Oz. I love Thanksgiving and the opportunity to take account of all the blessings we share as family and friends gather, but can’t help but also reflect on how history ACTUALLY happened.
      Such contrast to the story we are told of the first Thanksgiving in schools as children. Intentions were honorable at first I am sure, but things went quickly dark and oppressive.

      Anyway Oz, I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving across the pond, and have much to be thankful for and to look forward to in the days and years to come my friend.

      Keep Inspiring.

      • Thank you John, there’s so much to be thankful, each and every day I try to remind myself of the things I have been blessed with; being thankful should not be limited to one day, but I guess it’s a good thing for those who forget most year round to be giving thanks. However, I do not agree with people being thankful for one day and forgetting their thanks for the rest of the year, it’s a little bit pointless and hypocritical…(I’m having a rant now lol, please excuse me).

        I do hope you have a blessed day with those you hold dear to yourself and enjoy the spirit of thankfulness together, have a peaceful and fabulous day.

      • I totally agree. Sometimes we just need a reminder to stop and reflect though. It is easy to become complacent and take the blessings for granted.
        Have a good one.

  3. Pingback: Me talk? Never! | scottishmomus

  4. Pingback: Blog of the Year 2013 – A Thank you | Ramblings From A Mum

Leave a comment