Me And My Shadow

ShadowMonsterWeb

Welcome back my grinning friend

You’ve been away far, far too long

Where the HELL have you been?

 

 

No wait, you best not answer me

You see, it is questions like this

That get me in all sorts of trouble

 

 

Like the time we……..never mind

I shudder to think of the damage

We have caused together, you and I

 

 

I see you creeping in my window

Your black toothed smile on display

With boundless Devilry in your eyes

 

 

As hard as I try to look the other way

You keep showing up at my feet

Seemingly taller every time

 

 

As my days get shorter and fewer

Can I rely on you my tried and trusted

To be there when any light shines?

 

 

Counting on me to look into that light

Finding the brighter side of circumstance

While you balance it with dark presence

 

 

Don’t be gone so long next time you stray

Stay close in case I am lacking distraction

You happen to be, after all…….My Shadow

30 responses to “Me And My Shadow

  1. Wonderful poem, just wonderful! Life long journey to accept Shadow and still know Light. Hmmmm …. I know you know what I mean! Great stuff here, John!! Thank you …. Thank you! Love, Amy

    • I know exactly what you mean, and you obviously know exactly what this poem means. I deal a lot with the balance between dark and light throughout my poetry. I tend to write light from a darker perspective if that makes sense. Thank you for GETTING this.
      XOXO

      • Oh I GET THIS. It is my dark side that pushes me to the Light. It is the dark in me that encourages me to rise above it to repattern and relearn. It is the dark in me that is there at a moment’s notice to come to my defence for it has taught me how to stand up for myself without backing down or taking anyone’s BS. I have used the dark for GOOD. A lot of my photography shows the mirror image of dark and ligth, if you know what you are looking for, or from out of the dark the light does glow. Yep, I know. Love, Amy

      • We are SO on the same page here Amy. I so relate to your understanding, respect, and appreciation for the dark both in the world, and within us all. It is not always a negative thing. Much love,

        John

      • Words came to me today in my Yoga class, on this subject. As usual, I told the words, IF they are meant to BE I will remember them when I get home. I did. GRIN! So, in between the Falls posts, this will be coming as well. I have also been thinking about this a lot today … What I saw was how I have taught myself to use my shadow in certain circumstances, yet at the same time when I do, I stay in the Light. In other words not to allow the shadow to pull me down into the dark. Not easy to do, but with practice it does get easier. I’ve used my shadow able to stay calm of spirit and Heart, not getting “hot around the collar”. I really thank you for this train of thought. I really chewed on it. (((HUGS))) Amy

      • I love this perspective and your practical application of the darkness. Without both the dark AND the light there is no proper perspective. Thank you for sharing this Amy.

        Hugs
        XO

      • Helping others while helping ourselves through the gift of creativity and words. Another reason I love the WordPress community. Be well Amy. Enjoy the rest of your weekend.
        XO

Leave a Reply

