Night Train (A Nightmare Concluded)

Some of you may recognize the first image from a prior flash fiction piece of mine entitled  “A Nightmare To Remember” . I had always intended to continue with that story and finally found a suitable image that inspired the rest of the story. This is a bit different in style to the original piece but tells the continuing story of the character’s quest for what lies below……

I hope you enjoy it as much as I enjoyed bringing it to it’s conclusion

imagesN05ICTII

art-train-subway-creepy-837474

Familiarity for a place I have never physically been before

A sense of dread combined with an eager anticipation

Things my eyes show me to be the truths of my surroundings

Become both overwhelming and soothing to my sensibilities

As my dreamscapes overseer draws me downward once again

 

Shadows and voices return with renewed ferocity and tangibility

Past recurring theme of being led into the intriguing unknown

Curiosity and terror battle for control as I make my way down

A subterranean seduction of my desire to know the unnamed

To finally find what has been beckoning for so long in the night

 

Far beyond where I am repeatedly taken from my journey so abruptly

Further below than I have ever been or may have ever hoped to be

My fervent questioning of secrets within the shadows perhaps foolish

As my thirst for awareness is once again shrouded in paralyzing fear

My delivery to the origin of these eerie steps leaves me stupefied

 

A subway platform of the most odd and unimaginable exists

Far below the place where my delusional odyssey began

A sinister place seemingly alive with shadows and voices

Multitudes of dark and insistent voices that I know so well

Haunting me; taunting as they deliver me to my waiting train

 

As I cross the threshold I am struck by the foul stench of death

Telltale signs of those that came before me are ever present

Epiphany arises as I am struck by the dire truth of my destination

There can be only one place that this voyage will come to it’s conclusion

My fascination with what waited for me below brings me to my Hellish end

 

Greeted by a new yet too familiar figure as it draws me ever near

I am burdened with the memories of all my human indiscretions

Branded with a number to become my new and infinite identity

My headstrong will to survive is stolen with astonishing force

As a modern day Charon removes the pennies from my eyes