Topsy Turvy Timothy

Bare with me folks. I saw this image as an opportunity to challenge myself a bit and also have a little fun. You might even call this an “experimental” piece. Ha!

tumblr_mjxxczudH01rzam7vo1_500

A dapper man tips his hat to an all seeing eye

As an owl flies below asking not Who but Why?

The green grass grows thick, way up in the sky

Blue heavens underfoot, so deep or maybe high?

 

The man walks with purpose along jagged aisle

Cobbled path of peaks reach down a country mile

This sharp dressed man, well above rank and file

Acknowledges the owl with a nod and a smile

 

Tree trunks alongside determine his destination

What could be cause for gentleman’s migration?

What brings this aristocrat of such a high station?

On psychedelic journey transcending imagination

 

Black and white multicolored world so hard to find

A kaleidoscopic universe before his eyes to unwind

Our man about town so cuttingly sharp and refined

Leads the charge through vast expanses of the mind

 

 

 

 

10 responses to “Topsy Turvy Timothy

  1. I truly enjoyed this piece … it was like taking a walk into your brilliant mind!! 🙂 I am also very proud of you for challenging yourself, although as easily as this flowed, I’m not sure it was much of a challenge for someone with your immense talent!!

    • Thanks D. I had fun with this. All image driven, but I totally saw it as a nod to the LSD culture of the late 60’s for some reason. I was a bit “LEARY” of that, but somebody had to take the role of the “well dressed man”. Thanks again for your kind words and support.

  2. I don’t know why, but this reminds me of ‘Well Respected Man’ by The Kinks – on a more surreal level

    • Thanks. I saw the image and it screamed of a psychedelic journey. Dr. Leary seemed like a fitting character to play the role of the “Well Respected Man”. It was fun to get back to something that was COMPLETELY image driven again. I am also glad that it reminded you of something else other than my intent. I always try to leave as much room as possible for varied reader interpretation. I am glad you saw this as a surreal version of a “well respected man about town, doing the best things, most conservatively”. Great song reference too BTW.

Leave a Reply

