“Sea of Life”

stormy_sea_by_alexlinde-d3y6mgd

Each morning I wake to begin my seemingly endless journey anew
 
The tide is in and it is time to navigate these rough waters once again
 
This intricate dance with the waves, the ebb and flow of inconsistent surf
 
Unendingly vast and fathoms deep, I question my ability to stay on course
 
I look to the sky and the brightest stars above to guide my way back home
 
Which are arrows toward my destination, and which exist only to confuse my route?
 
Occasionally afloat, yet often submerged while the pressures of the deep constrict
 
The times I feel I am riding the crest of the highest waves are frequently replaced
 
Interchanged with the feeling that I am sinking. Drowning in the murky depths
 
Oh, how I am longing to feel the strength of solid earth beneath my weary feet
 
I scan the horizon far and wide for the sight of sacred ground to call my new home
 
Again this angry sea threatens to take from me any and all remaining sanity
 
To leave me lost and floating aimlessly across the expanses of my clearly pointless voyage
 
As I rock fore and aft with the rolling rise and fall of the ever growing swells
 
It dawns on me that I have become more than accustomed to the constant motion
 
In tumultuous storm or the tranquility of a gentle sea, I discover an inner calm
 
My reality is now as clear to me as the sunset in the distant oceanic horizon
 
This turmoil is not what drives me mad but rather gives me the balance I need
 
For me, without a stormy actuality there can be no true peace of mind or strength of spirit
 
The clouds part and the waters become still as this nautical realization comes to be
 
This ocean of uncertainty, this “Sea of Life” if you will, is exactly where I belong
 
29 responses to ““Sea of Life”

    • Once again you flatter me with the higher praise than I deserve. I truly appreciate your taking time to comment on the things you enjoy.
      Keep Inspiring

  1. this is a wonderful piece…
    I am enjoying wandering through your thoughts….
    you write with emotions I like that….
    Take care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

    • Thank you so much for taking the time to read, and comment. I hope you continue to find enjoyment here. Both in what already exists, and in what I have yet to create.
      Keep Inspiring.

      • You’re Welcome..
        and i am sure I will …
        Have a good night(what’s left)
        Take Care…
        )0(

      • I love it!! And I don’t want you unhappily lost in the Sea of Desire —- think of it as a Caribbean holiday!! 🙂 clothing optional!! But one warning, my more recent pieces are not erotic.

      • That’s quite alright. You are very gifted with the written word, regardless of content, and I enjoy many different things. And a Caribbean holiday may be just what I need. Meet me on the beach. I will be the one with the Devil on his shoulder. LOL.

      • You obviously didn’t LISTEN to my post “My Voice” posted yesterday. I will only beg under one condition. 😉

      • Actually I did listen. Love your voice BTW. Can’t blame a guy for trying though. Even if you made it abundantly clear that you beg under only one condition. I find it difficult to lay my heart open for anyone, but we’ll see. Maybe some day.

      • Actually, since I am blessed to be from the South, you most likely will hear me say, “Please”, “Thank you”, and “Sir” a lot. I am pretty sure some day there will be a woman lucky enough to earn your trust and heart.

      • Thank you. I am keeping my eyes wide open for her. Ever hear the expression “Once bitten, twice shy?” Let’s just say I have visible teeth marks. And sadly not of the overzealous playful variety. LOL.

  2. One of the first poems I wrote was called Sea of Desire ….. I think you will enjoy it as it has some of the same themes within it.

Leave a Reply

